Filter by keywords

- clear all filters

Apply pre-defined filters

  • Open of close filterComposer
  • Open of close filterShow more Composer
  • Open of close filterLine-up
  • Open of close filterShow more Line-up
  • Open of close filterSolo line-up
  • Open of close filterShow more Solo line-up
  • Open of close filterEditions
  • Open of close filterShow more Editions
  • Open of close filterArranger
  • Open of close filterShow more Arranger
  • Open of close filterGenre
  • Open of close filterShow more Genre

10 Short Pieces for strings (1989)

Buy this item (in stock)

€ 45,00

Product ID: EV2 017
By Louis Calabro
published: 1989

Line Up:
Flexible Instrumentation

Set & Score

This item is in stock

Reviews and rating

No review available, be the first to write one!

Write a review
10 Short Pieces for strings (1989)

Louis Calabro (1826-1991)

Louis Calabro, (1926-1991 Brooklyn New York) was an Italian American orchestral composer. Calabro studied piano and composition at Juilliard School of Music. Vincent Persichetti was his principal teacher there. Louis Calabro was a music professor at Bennington College of Vermont from 1955 until his death in 1991. He was a composer, teacher, conductor and a percussionist. Calabro's original music is published by Elkan-Vogel, Theodore Presser, Tuba Press and Morningstar Music. Calabro has over 100 works to his credit including music for traditional and non-traditional chamber combinations as well as for both large and small orchestral ensembles most notably in America. Calabro believed in writing music for those he knew best and had the distinction of hearing virtually everything he wrote performed during his lifetime. There are many recordings of these performances as well as scores archived at Bennington College and at the University of Vermont. Louis Calabro founded the Sage City Symphony in 1973, an ambitious community orchestra in southwestern Vermont which is still active and continues to commission new works. Calabro believed strongly in encouraging and promoting contemporary music, at a time when few American orchestras (professional or amateur) were performing premieres. With the Symphony, he commissioned dozens of new orchestral works and conducted their premieres. Composers whose work was premiered under his baton include Marta Ptaszynska and Vivian Fine. He was a recipient of numerous awards including Guggenheim Fellowships, grants from the National Endowment on the Arts and the Bicentennial Commission, and the Vermont Governor's Award for Excellence in the Arts (1992).
More info about the composer...